Salsa Quitza – Tuesdays With Dorie

IMG_3890

I think when I made this recipe it can officially be considered baking improvisation. Initially I wasn’t going to attempt it because it required the use of a bread machine which I don’t own but I figured I’d give it a shot – thought I’d make the dough the same way I’ve made bread or gnocchi. It was actually pretty easy to put together and it rose just like bread so I figured the hard part was over. Not quite. I’m not sure why but when I read the recipe I thought it called for a nine inch springform pan which I own and not the twelve inch springform pan that I do not own. I figured out my mistake when I was getting ready to put the quitza together so I opted for making a flat pizza which was one of the options listed. So, I got the baking stone out, put it into the oven and formed the quitza on my trusty pizza peel. Everything was fine until I realized that my baking stone, and my oven, were too small to handle something this large. So, I made the crust a little thicker and slid it into the preheated oven. Parts of the quitza were still kind of hanging over the side so for the first few minutes I had to keep shoving it back onto the stone until it was firm enough to stay in there on its’ own. Β In the end everything turned out fine – a little thicker than I’d planned but very tasty. Here are a couple of photos of the intermediate steps.

The quitza dough formed into a flat pizza:

IMG_3888

The dough with all the toppings:

IMG_3889

I think next time I do this, I’m going to split the dough into two portions and make a couple of smaller flat pizzas which my oven will hold. I have to admit though it was kind of fun doing the large one – made me feel a little like MacGyver.

8 thoughts on “Salsa Quitza – Tuesdays With Dorie

    • Haha πŸ™‚ This was definitely a bit challenging to make. I’ve never even seen a 12 inch springform pan – think they should have cut back on the quantities so that it could be made in a more standard size. Guess I could have done that as well if I’d taken the time to read the recipe correctly! πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Haha πŸ™‚ That’s a good idea. I would have done the same if I hadn’t already formed the pizza. I think they should keep in mind the equipment that a typical person has at home when publishing these recipes.

      Like

Leave a comment