Eastern European Rye Bread – Tuesdays With Dorie

IMG_3750

Rye bread is one of my favorites – I love it toasted with eggs in the morning, for lunch as part of a corned beef sandwich with swiss cheese and mustard or as a snack with smoked salmon and crème fraiche. I’ve never really tried making it before though so I was a little nervous about attempting this recipe but I shouldn’t have been. It was actually a lot of fun and the bread was so much better than most I’ve bought at the store – very moist, nice caraway flavor and a great crust. The dough was very easy to work with as well even when it was hanging from my skillets in towel slings!

Here are a few photos of the bread being put together. The first is the dough rising:

IMG_3742

The dough formed into a loaf:

IMG_3745

The dough resting in the dishtowel hammocks:

IMG_3748

I really enjoyed making this recipe and i have to say it made some of the best rye toast and corned beef sandwiches I’ve had in awhile.

10 thoughts on “Eastern European Rye Bread – Tuesdays With Dorie

Leave a Reply

